On Lonely Nights

On lonely nights, I wear your shirt. I feel safe when I do. It’s like being under your skin; being enveloped in your embrace.

On lonely nights, I put your records on. I hear your voice as it plays. My soul dances to your melody.

On lonely nights, I would write. I try to materialize your absence into words, hoping that the flow of ink will rid me of my grief.

On lonely nights, I close my eyes and relive all our times together. I swear I could almost feel the nearness of you when I reminisce.

On lonely nights, I stay isolated. I cannot stand the presence of another being without thinking of you in everything they do.

On lonely nights, I am yours, solely, as I am every other day of my existence.

On lonely nights, I don’t go out looking for the sun. I stay in the dark and make myself feel lonelier. Because, these days, I am only closest to you during those lonely nights.

 

 

3 thoughts on “On Lonely Nights

Leave a comment